Nebraska School Activities Association

NSAA Student Advisory Committee Selects New Members for 2018-19

The Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA) is pleased to announce the individuals selected to the NSAA Student Advisory Committee for the 2018-19 school year.  These new members will join the eight seniors serving their second year:

Ellie Fields, Harvard High School

Shruthi Kumar, Omaha Marian High School

Dallas Rogers, Papillion-La Vista South High School

Breanna Gill, Ponca High School

Hollianna Watson, McPherson County High School

Andrew Daum, McCook High School

Maycee Quick, Alliance High School

Jerzie Menka, Bridgeport High School

Out of over 80 impressive applicants, eight were selected to serve for their junior and senior years.  These students were selected from the Nebraska’s six NSAA districts.  The selection process was focused on the representation of gender, school classification, minority representation, and participation in interscholastic athletics/activities. The purpose of this committee is to serve as a liaison between students and administrators, and the NSAA Staff and Board of Directors.  The Student Advisory Committee will help promote the mission of the NSAA, encompassing leadership, sportsmanship and integrity.  The focus will be on providing education and leadership through open and honest communication with all member schools and their students, administrators and coaches. Specific duties and responsibilities will be to:  discuss current student and Association issues, assist with various Association functions, and help to maintain an avenue of communication between the Association and the student participants themselves.  Avenues to accomplish this goal would be:

  • Committee members could give student perspective on proposed by-law changes.
  • Students could provide input, help develop and attend the sportsmanship and leadership summits in conjunction with the NCA.
  • Students could record public service announcements (PSAs), through a media partner chosen by the NSAA.

Congratulations to the new members of the Student Advisory Committee!